Student Profile-Sokhy

 In blog

My name is Sokhy. I am 23 years old. I was born in Stung Treng, in the village Hang Kosouen, just across the river from the town of Stung Treng. I have six brothers and sisters. I am the eldest of them. My mother was born in my village, in Stung Treng—my father in a neighboring village in the province. They are both rice farmers. My younger sister, the second-oldest, has a family. She’s 21, and was married when she was 19. She lives at my mother and father’s house. Her husband is from the same village as my father, O Trei.

I have finished high school; I took the exams for 12th grade. We didn’t have the means for me to learn more. I came to study at Le Tonlé instead, in 2014. In high school, since my village was across the river, I lived with my aunt in Stung Treng town, to avoid making the crossing every day. I liked living with her, but our school was far, and I had to ride there and back on a bicycle. Sometimes, too, we had money for me to learn; other times not. So most of the time, I felt like I couldn’t follow my lessons. I had to keep working to catch up with the class. My favorite subject was physics. I was better at it than all the other subjects. When I didn’t have money to go to school, I would study it at home, but it wasn’t the same. I liked living in Stung Treng anyway, though. I had more friends than I did in my village.

I was 21 when I finished high school. When I finished, when I passed my exam, I wanted to go study more, in the university, but I was out of money. I spent one year free—but during this year, I became very sick. I could not do anything, and I could not find a job. I had lingering malaria—a high, persistent fever and a headache. Eventually I went to the hospital and was helped. I had a headache and stomachache and fever for a long time, though.

The hospital was expensive. I had to pay for medicine, for the serum they gave me, for the IV itself. My parents had some saved, thankfully. They are poor, but they were able to help. I still felt sad. I was with my mother and father, but our hearts were all difficult.

I heard about Le Tonlé on the radio. I registered, then took the exam, then interviewed. I felt very happy to come. I’ve made, now, so many new friends, and I’ve seen a lot of things that I haven’t seen before. It is a new thing, for me, to live with my friends in a team, to work together and cook together—we cook quite well—and speak out our hearts. When I’m finished, here, I don’t know what I’ll do. It’s hard to find a job in this town, though my teachers will help me. It might be far from Stung Treng, where I work. I’m afraid to do work far from home, and afraid to do jobs about which I know very little. I will do any work I can find.

When I do have a job, I’d like to go to university to learn more. I don’t care what province, any at all. I’d like to learn English and computer skills—I’d like to get better with computers. If I had a good job, I think I could support myself to do this.

Recent Posts

Laisser un commentaire

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt